Twin Spring


Restored in 1994 by the Mineral Springs Foundation and its private owner, Kerstin Ericsson, who also designed the unique font. Twin is a favorite among many who enjoy the natural taste of this strong-flowing spring, and it’s also popular for making mineral water lemonade. Drilled in the 1920s by William S. Crosby, and originally flowing from two depths and flowing into one, this spring has been known as Crosby Spring, Twin Link Spring, named for another former owner, and even Twin Lithia Spring, as traces of Lithium are found in the water.

Mineral Content

Alkalinity1,020 mg/L
Calcium252 mg/L
Chloride76.2 mg/L
Fluoride2.40 mg/L
Lithium.188 mg/L
Magnesium77.2 mg/L
Potassium18 mg/L
Silica15.4 mg/L
Sodium129 mg/L
Sulfate72.8 mg/L
Zinc.080 mg/L
Total Dissolved Solids1,300 mg/L

The Font Artist

Kerstin Eriksson

Colorado Springs Architect, Artist and Font Designer, Kerstin Eriksson created the Twin Spring bronze font in a style that she often expresses in clay works. Ms. Eriksson served on the Manitou Springs City Council, and was active in a mentoring program for local high school students. Kerstin owned the building at Twin Spring for many years, became a member of the Mineral Springs Foundation board of directors and worked with Architect Duane Waldo to recreate the historic gazebo that now sits in 7-Minute Park. The gazebo at 7-Minute Park is a re creation of a structure that once housed the Ute Iron Spring near the top of Ruxton Avenue.

Font History

View south of Twin Spring along Ruxton Avenue with trolley tracks circa 1910. Denver Public Library, Western History Collection, Louis Charles McClure; MCC-639

Historic Manitou Springs

Early font at Twin Spring with hand-written mineral content chart posted above the basin; date unknown

Early font at Twin Spring with two separate spigots; date unknown

Early font at Twin Spring with single spigot and wood enclosure; date unknown